Humanities Year 7 – Year 10

The Humanities and Social Science (HASS) programme is designed to allow students develop a broad understanding of the world in which we live and how people can participate as active and informed citizens in the 21st century.


It involves inquiring into historical, geographical, political, economic and socio- cultural contexts that influence and have an impact on individuals, societies and environments.


The students will explore four disciplines each year from:

  • Civics and Citizenship
  • Economics and Business
  • Geography
  • History


Unit topics in each discipline from year 7 –  year 10 include: Designing Our Political and Legal System, Democracy and Law in Action, Our Demographic Rights, Justice at Home and Overseas; Producing and Consuming, Participation and Influences in the Market Place, Australia and the Global Economy, Economic Performance and Living Standards; Water in the World and Place and Liveability, Landforms and Landscapes and Changing Nations, Biomes and Food Security and Geographies of Interconnections, Environmental Change and Management and Geographies of Human Well Being; Investigating the Ancient Past and Investigating an Ancient Society, Medieval Europe and The Black Death, Investigating the Industrial Revolution and Investigating World War I, Investigating World War II and Investigating Rights and Freedoms.


Each unit is developed through key concepts specific to each discipline to achieve an enduring understanding in humanities. It also allows an appreciation of ideas that transcend disciplinary boundaries and allow students to think critically and transfer knowledge. This encourages teaching and learning connections with other learning areas.


In Year 10 students are required to demonstrate deep conceptual understanding with an increased level of sophistication of humanities skills such as questioning and researching, analyzing, evaluating and communicating and reflecting that they have developed throughout years 7 to 9 of the programme. The students are rotated through the four humanities subject areas to prepare them for Year 11 and Year 12 WACE and Diploma Programme subject selections in Geography, Modern History, Accounting and Finance, Business Enterprise and Management, Economics, Global Politics and Politics and Law.